7 Indiana University researchers earn grants from American Cancer Society

INDIANAPOLIS -- (February 21, 2013) -- Seven Indiana University researchers are recipients of an American Cancer Society Institutional Research Grant.

The American Cancer Society awards these three-year grants to institutions for promising junior investigators' projects. The grant program's purpose is to attract new investigators into cancer research and support new pilot studies that will produce preliminary data the investigator can develop into studies that will compete successfully for external, national funds from both federal and private sources. 

The American Cancer Society awarded a total of $450,000 to IU.

“We appreciate the American Cancer Society’s grant,” said Mark R. Kelley, Ph.D., associate director for basic science research at the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center. “Funds from this grant greatly benefit our young investigators as they begin their careers in cancer research.”

Gary McMullen, vice president of executive communications for the American Cancer Society Great Lakes Division, added: “We are pleased to be able to support the outstanding research efforts at IU. The university has received this type of support from us for several decades because of its high level of young research talent, scientific creativity and solid administrative leadership.” 

The following recipients are faculty members at the IU School of Medicine and researchers at the IU Simon Cancer Center:

  • Janaiah Kota, Ph.D., assistant professor of medical and molecular genetics. Dr. Kota’s research grant is for “AAV-miR-26a and Doxorubicin Combinatorial Therapy for Hepatocellular Carcinoma.”  

  • Xing Jun Li, M.D., Ph.D., assistant research professor of pediatrics. Dr. Li’s research grant is for “Hyperactive Innate Immunity in the Pathogenesis of JMML.”

  • Tao Lu, Ph.D., assistant professor of pharmacology and toxicology and of biochemistry and molecular biology. Dr. Lu’s research grant is for “Target Discovery: Using VBIM Technology to Identify Carboplatin Resistance Genes in Ovarian Cancer Cells.”

  • Catherine Mosher, Ph.D., assistant professor of psychology. Dr. Mosher’s research grant is for “Telephone Symptom Management for Advanced Lung Cancer Patients and Caregivers.”

  • Catherine Sears, M.D., assistant research professor of medicine. Dr. Sears’ research grant is for “The Role of XPC in the Development of Smoking-Related Lung Cancer.” 

The following recipients are faculty members at the IU School of Medicine: 

  • Jing-Yuan Liu, Ph.D., assistant research professor of computer and information science and of pharmacology and toxicology. Dr. Liu’s research grant is for “A Novel Approach Targeting Undruggable Oncogenic Protein Dimers for Drug Discovery.”

  • Grzegorz Nalepa, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of pediatrics. Dr. Nalepa’s research grant is for “The CDKN3 Signaling Network in Cancer: A Novel Therapeutic Target?”