Dr. Champion named associate director of population science at IU Simon Cancer Center

INDIANAPOLIS -- (July 29, 2011) -- Victoria Champion, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N., Distinguished Professor at the Indiana University School of Nursing, has been named associate director of population science at the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center.

In this position, Dr. Champion will provide scientific and administrative oversight of the cancer center's population science research programs. The goals of a population science program are to reduce the morbidity (rate of incidence) and mortality (death rate) of cancer.

She will be responsible for maintaining an independent research effort, fostering the continued development of population science research programs, and trans-disciplinary collaborations.

Dr. Champion's research in behavioral oncology has provided significant knowledge that has led to interventions and the discovery of cancer at earlier and more curable stages. Her research has been funded by the National Institutes of Health for more than two decades, and she is using interactive technology to test format delivery and cost-effectiveness for breast cancer screening.

Dr. Champion is also studying quality-of-life issues in breast cancer survivors and pilot testing interventions to increase patient/provider communication.

Dr. Champion serves as associate dean for research, Edward W. and Sarah Stam Cullipher Chair, scientific director of BCOG (Behavioral Cooperative Oncology Group) of the Mary Margaret Walther Program at the IU School of Nursing, and she is co-leader of the cancer center's Cancer Prevention and Control research program, http://www.cancer.iu.edu/research-trials/programs/prevention/index.shtml.

In 2008, Dr. Champion was appointed to the National Cancer Advisory Board (NCAB) by President George Bush. NCAB is an 18-member board that advises the secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services and the director of the National Cancer Institute. She will remain on the board until 2014.