IU Simon Cancer Center breast oncologist elected ASCO president


INDIANAPOLIS -- (Jan. 6, 2009) -- George W. Sledge Jr., M.D., a nationally recognized pioneer in the development of novel therapies for breast cancer, has been elected to become president of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) for a one-year term beginning in June 2010. He will take office as president-elect during ASCO’s 45th Annual Meeting in Orlando in June.

Dr. Sledge is the Ballve-Lantero Professor of Oncology and professor of pathology and laboratory medicine at the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center. 

“Being elected to serve as ASCO president is an honor and a privilege. I look forward to working with my colleagues on the board of directors to support all types of cancer research and address the challenges of the modern-day practice of oncology,” Dr. Sledge said. “ASCO institutes real change by uniting all members of the oncology community with the common goal of improving cancer care and prevention and ensuring that all patients with cancer receive the highest quality care.”

Dr. Sledge joined the Indiana University School of Medicine faculty in 1983, after completing his residency at St. Louis University and his fellowship at the University of Texas, San Antonio. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Wisconsin and his medical degree from Tulane University. His research interests include molecular and tumor biology, growth factors, and anti-angiogenic therapy related to breast cancer. 

“Every new member that is elected to ASCO’s board of directors brings a unique perspective that will shape the society’s future goals and practices,” Allen S. Lichter, M.D., chief executive officer of ASCO, said. “I am particularly looking forward to working with Dr. Sledge and watching how his 25 years as an ASCO member will define the legacy that he leaves on the society’s efforts to improve cancer care.”

Since joining ASCO in 1984, Dr. Sledge has demonstrated a comprehensive record of service to the society. He served on the ASCO board of directors from 2005 to 2008 and served as a member of the nominating committee from 2000 to 2003, serving as chair 2002-03.

Additionally, Dr. Sledge has served on the cancer education committee in various capacities, the scientific program committee and the personnel committee. He has also served on the Best of ASCO Abstract Selection Committee, the Post-Mastectomy Radiotherapy Expert Panel, the Aspen Conference Planning Committee, and the Government Relations Council.

Dr. Sledge is also an active member of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) and serves as chair of the breast cancer committee of the Hoosier Oncology Group. He currently serves as chair of the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group and serves in various capacities for The Breast Cancer Intergroup. He was also secretary (1997-1998) and a board of trustees member (1995-1998) of the Indiana Medical Oncology Society.

Dr. Sledge has received many awards and honors, most recently The Jill Rose Award – Breast Cancer Research Foundation (2007) and the 2006 Komen Foundation Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction. He is also listed in “America’s Top Doctors” (2001-2007).