External Advisors

The External Advisory Board of the IU Simon Cancer Center is composed of experienced leaders from other National Cancer Institute (NCI)–designated cancer centers. The board advises the cancer center’s director and leadership council, helping to evaluate research programs and to provide feedback for their further development.

The External Advisory Board members are:

George Weiner, M.D.
University of Iowa Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center
Iowa City, Iowa

Terrance L. Albrecht, Ph.D.
Karmanos Cancer Institute

Edward Chu, M.D.
Univeristy of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute

Lisa M. Coussens, Ph.D.
Knight Cancer Institute
Portland, Ore.

Yves DeClerck, M.D.
Children’s Hospital Los Angeles
Los Angeles

S. Gail Eckhardt, M.D.
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, Texas

Lauren Hackett, M.P.A.
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
Nashville, Tenn.

Maha Hussain, M.D.
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University

Michelle M. Le Beau, Ph.D.
University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center

Xihong Lin, Ph.D.
Harvard School of Public Health

Kevin Oeffinger, M.D.
Duke Cancer Institute
Durham, N.C.

Philip Payne, Ph.D.
Washington University School of Medicine 
St. Louis, MO      

Garth Powis, D.Phil.
Sanford-Bernham Medical Research Institute
La Jolla, Calif.

Geoffrey Wahl, Ph.D.
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
La Jolla, Calif.

Robert Winn, M.D.
University of Illinois Cancer Center